Yoga When You Are Sick

A super busy week of work and my daughters’ dance obligations has resulted in a lovely little sinus infection.  I haven’t been this sick in a long time.  But even when I’m sick, I am still able to enjoy one of my absolute favorite things – yoga!  Thanks to the internet and youtube, I’ve found many ways to use yoga to feel better when I’m sick.

It all started a few years ago when I was getting so tired of fighting with my sinuses all of the time.  I am not a huge fan of OTC medicine and knew there were other things that could help me out.  The neti-pot helps a lot, but I quickly fell in love with this series of poses to relieve sinus congestion on popsugar.

Since then I’ve become addicted to practicing yoga on youtube.  Two of my favorite practices for when I’m sick are:

Yoga for Sickness, Stress, Cold and Flu from Brett Larkin Yoga

Yoga for when you are SICK from Yoga with Adriene

These have been lifesavers on days when I feel crummy.  It feels so good to still be able to stretch and relax on days when exercise sounds completely impossible.  And I really think these yoga series help me heal faster.

I’d love to know if anyone else has any great yoga practices that help when you are under the weather 🙂

Leave a Reply

